How I make explosives

in my books

You might have guessed it: I’m using AI to do my dirty work.

ChatGPT is my new best friend to help speed up my background research. You can probably guess the topics:

ChatGPT has a lot of limitations to make it “safe.” You won’t get anything but an apology and a long description my this shit is dangerous and illegal if you ask it how to stick a knife into someone’s abdomen. But, lo and behold, you can ask it to make suggestions for a fictional scenario.

And that was how I got ChatGPT to tell me how to make dynamite using ingredients you could get in an 1890s pharmacy. I’m not even sure if I get to use this in The Viper, because Liz and Quinn are doing stuff I didn’t plan. All the feckin’ time!

It’s always a good idea to double-check anything ChatGPT tells you, because it’s prone to “hallucinations.”

And just yesterday I dumped my new best research assistant for a newer bester one: Perplexity has real-time internet access and provides me with all the sources. So much better!

Can AI replace artists?

Yes and no. Should you panic about AI? Yes and no. But before you do anything, watch this documentary about AI, made with AI.

But what about extra super duper boxed sets?

I keep thinking of deluxe hardcover editions that I would create for you in Kickstarter. Here are a few ideas on what I’d like to include:

  • Gilded or sprayed edges

  • Cloth cover with gold foil stamping

  • Hand-embossed and signed first page

  • Fitting bookplate

  • Fitting bookmark

  • Exclusive character illustrations

  • Full-page spread art

  • Vellum overlays

I’ve got LOADS of free books for you:

Join the conversation

or to participate.